Malaysian Chilli Crab

I remember tasting extremely delicious crab when we were in Malaysia. The sauce it came with was both sweet and hot at the same time. After searching around a bit I found this recipe which seemed to be doing what I needed. And with some modifications, I now have an excellent recipe for crab. I can’t say if it is exactly like the one we tasted in Malaysia, but it is definitely very yummy. I was really  scared of working with live crabs ! I didn’t know how exactly to handle it and since it was the first time I was cooking crab I didn’t want to take any risks.  However the only reason I didn’t use live crabs was that Central Market, where we usually buy sea food had no live ones today 😛 Jokes apart although I was glad that I could just buy some cooked crab in the shell, I am sure this recipe will be tastier if you can cook it with live crab. But fortunately we could still taste the juices in the shell!

1.5 lb crab

4 anise seeds

oil

1 medium red onion chopped

10 curry leaves

salt

For spice paste :

1 small tomato chopped

2 medium shallots chopped

2-3 sprigs green onion chopped

3 clove garlic

1 inch ginger

1/2 tsp cumin seeds

2 tbsp tamarind paste

2 tbsp sugar

6 red chillies

15-20 curry leaves  (~from 2 stems)

1/2 stalk lemon grass chopped

Put the ingredients for the paste in a processor/grinder and grind to make a paste. In a pan fry the chopped red onion and curry leaves in some oil. In a deeper vessel heat some oil, throw in the anise seeds and then fry the paste for a minute. Add the crab and some water to get the desired consistency and simmer on medium heat for 2 minutes. Then add the fried onions and curry leaves. Add salt to taste and more sugar or tamarind paste if required. Serve with steamed rice ! Yummy goodness!

This entry was posted in Crab Entree and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment